Golden Wheel Awards


The Golden Wheel Awards honor those individuals and groups who are making a difference in transforming San Francisco into a more people and bike-friendly place.

Sponsor Golden Wheel

Event Sponsorship

As a sponsor and guest of this event, you will be investing in the community by supporting one of the city’s oldest, largest and most effective grassroots organizations, the San Francisco Bicycle Coalition.

Purchase Tickets

2016 Honoree: Nicole Ferrara, Executive Director, Walk SF

For her work fighting to make Vision Zero a reality in San Francisco, and for her support for projects and public spaces that promote active transportation and benefit people who walk and bike, the SF Bicycle Coalition is proud to award Nicole Ferrara with a 2016 Golden Wheel Award. Nicole is the Executive Director of Walk San Francisco and has worked tirelessly to win San Francisco’s adoption of Vision Zero, build a Vision Zero Coalition of community based organizations, change policies to prioritize people on foot, and win funding for improvements to the walking environment. Nicole is the chair of the Vision Zero Network’s Advisory Committee, and serves on the board for the Alliance for Biking and Walking.

2016 Honoree: Assemblymember Phil Ting

For his leadership locally and in Sacramento to encourage biking, including his authorship of AB 40, which permanently banned tolls on people biking and walking across California’s bridges including the Golden Gate Bridge, the SF Bicycle Coalition is proud to award Assemblymember Phil Ting with a 2016 Golden Wheel Award. Phil Ting was elected to the State Assembly in 2012, representing the 19th Assembly District which spans the Westside of San Francisco as well as the communities of Broadmoor, Colma, Daly City, and South San Francisco. In addition to his many legislative accomplishments, Assemblymember Ting hosts an annual family bicycle safety fair in partnership with Safe Routes to Schools and the SF Bicycle Coalition.

2016 Special Remarks by Supervisors Jane Kim and Scott Wiener

We are pleased to welcome Supervisors Jane Kim and Scott Wiener to this year’s Golden Wheel Awards. Both Supervisors have been strong supporters of better biking in San Francisco and are running to replace State Senator Mark Leno in Senate District 11. Supervisors Kim and Wiener have been invited to address their respective transportation platforms.

Special Thanks to Our 2016 Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors

Ann Lyons

Jenn Fox

Mark Slavonia

Gold Sponsors

Nick Josefowitz

Sasha Aickin & Jason Tester

Silver Sponsors


Topher Olson

Bronze Sponsors

AGI Avant

Brianne O’Leary Gagnon & Paul Gagnon

David Keenan & Alice Mosley

Fehr & Peers

Matt & Lily Eggers

Perkins + Will

Port of San Francisco

Tom Lockard & Alix Marduel

Andy Toebben & Julia Vich Toebben

CMG Landscape Architecture

Duncan Fuller & Tim Shea

Jay Bolcik & Michael Borden

Jesse Costello-Good

Nexar Inc

Pocket Development LLC


Westlake Urban